City of Union, Iowa
Photographs of Union Iowa

City Government
Council Members
Council Minutes
City Personell
Fire Dept
Ambulance Services
Boards and Commissions
City Code of Ordinances

Public Library

City History

Tar Heel Days

BCLUW School District

Union Cemetery

Hauser Cemetery


City Government

City Hall is open on Tuesdays and Thursdays
from 9:00 AM to 3:00 PM.
Phone 641-486-2302.
The City Council meets the second Tuesday of each month at 6:30 PM.
This is an open meeting, citizens are welcome.

Mayor: Dr. Cynthia Knight

Council Members:
Stephanie Carson
Steve Cox
Cheryl Halverson
Leeann Miller
Candy Wait

City Clerk:
Kristi Schiebel
Colleen Eagan

City Maintenance:
Maintenance Building
101 Commercial Street

Committees and Commissions
New Committee and Commission Assignments will be made
at the January 2018 Council Meeting.
Mayor Pro-Tem:
Water and Sewer:
Human Resources:
Fire Department:
Tree Board 6 members:
Park and Recreation 5 members:
Capital Improvement:
City Beautification:
Hardin County Solid Waste Comm:
Region 6 Planning and Zoning Comm:
E911 Comm:
Hardin County Emergency Mgmt Comm:
Rails to Trails Commission:

City Council Meeting Minutes
July - December 2017 Minutes
January - June 2017 Minutes
Previous Minutes are available
at City Hall

City Ordinances
Title Page - Ordinances thru 131
Table of Contents thru
Ordinance 131

Union Code thru
Ordinance 131

New - Building Permit
Application and Regulations

Utility Service Application
Dumpster Permit

Union Ambulance
Emergency calls dial - 911
Non-emergency calls dial - 641-486-2867

Union Fire Truck
Emergency calls dial - 911
In 2012, the Union Fire Dept. has completed training in CPR, firefighter 1, Haz Mat, and the simulation burn trailer.
Hardin County implemented a new Communications System this year
and our radios and pagers have been updated to that system.

Union Water Department
Contact the City Clerk for hookups and billing information

Garbage and Recycling Collection
Union is served by Knight Sanitation.
Garbage Pickup is Tuesday mornings.
Recycling Pickup is every other Tuesday morning.
Phone 641-858-2459

Hardin County Transit
Region 6 and Hardin County Supervisors have designed a medical transportation system to provide low cost transportation to health care service in Hardin County, Marshalltown, and Mason City.
To make reservations, call Region 6 Transit Service
at 515-752-6202 or toll free 1-888-616-4298.

Ambulance Service
Darlene Bradley, EMT
Andrew Clemons, EMT
Lisa Thompson, EMT
Junior Prusha, EMT
George Wait, EMT
Mike Thomas, Driver
Justin Miller, Driver
Aron Wanken, Driver

Fire Department
Troy Wilson, Chief
Aron Wanken, Assist Chief
Eric Sly, Captain, Assist Chief
Aron Wanken, Captain
Michael Thomas, Captain
Cindy Clemons, Sec/Treas
Justin Miller
Zach Lawler
George Wait
Nick Wanken
Matt Demmel
Lisa Thompson
Jon Robinson
Dennis Carson
Gary Vaux
Matt Miller
Paul Wayman
Gerald Brown
Bob Johnson - Honorary Member (retired)

Librarian: Laura Newby,
The Union Public Library web sites contain
library information and useful links.
Phone 641-486-5561

Building Permits, Licenses
Contact the City Clerk for application forms.
See link above on the right side.

Telephone, TV Cable Service, and Internet Service
Union is served by Heart of Iowa Telecommunications Cooperative

The school districts of Beaman, Conrad, Liscomb, Union, and Whitten from the BCLUW School District. The district serves approximately 700 students. The BCLUW Middle School is located in Union.
It accommodates grades five through eight
with an average grade size of 50 students.

Suggestions about the web site or city

Contact Us

Union City Hall
308 Center Street
Union, Iowa 50258

Webmaster - Computer Majic